Enter The Parson Woodforde and step back in time…
Built as a private residence in 1827 this building first became a village inn in 1845. In those early days it was named the Five Ringers after the bell-ringers who slaked their thirst here after tolling the bells in All Saints church opposite – a happy tradition that continues to this day. Many years later the inn was re-named The Parson Woodforde after the 18th century diarist and Parson in the Parish of Weston Longville.
James Woodforde was born in Somerset, where he retained close links throughout his life. He studied in Oxford before obtaining college living here in 1774.
His life would be considered unremarkable but for one thing: for nearly 45 years he kept a diary, with almost daily entries detailing the life and times of this wonderful parish.
The diary gives a unique insight into life in rural 18th C England. He is renowned for his good works but also for his legendary capacity for food… all washed down with copious amounts of ale, claret and port!
We have copies of all the Parson’s diaries in the bar for our guests to read.
These gargantuan feasts were always taken in the company of friends and in a generous spirit. We are sure that if the Parson were alive today, he and his friends would enjoy the convivial atmosphere and fine fare of his local hostelry. They would certainly keep our Chefs, Bar staff and suppliers busy!
To find out more about Parson James Woodforde please visit the Parson Woodforde Society website
The World War Two years
The village of Weston Longville and surrounding areas played a significant role during WW2. At The Parson Woodforde we have dedicated an area of our bar to the memory of the British and American Airmen who served here.
Attlebridge was an early wartime station, laid out for use in August 1942 by No 2 Group RAF light bombers. The base was assigned to the United States Army Air Force in September 1942.
The remains of Attlebridge Airfield near Weston Longville are still to be found. Between March 1944 and July 1945 it was home to the USAAF 466th Bombardment Group. Today, amid green fields and woodland, three runways and some buildings are still used for commercial purposes.
The base was in fact closer to Weston Longville than to Attlebridge but the RAF were faced with a dilemma — there were already three stations beginning with the name Weston. This was resolved by adopting the name of the nearest village with a railway station, Attlebridge.
Come and see us soon and experience the best that Norfolk has to offer today in a traditional country inn steeped in history.